
If your business primarily operates using Apple devices, then you probably use Apple Business Manager (ABM).
ABM is a crucial tool, as it allows you to manage your fleet of devices remotely with ease. But what happens when an employee leaves? Or if a device is lost, stolen, damaged or sold?
Read on to find out how to remove devices from Apple Business Manager, should you encounter a situation such as the above.
What is Apple Business Manager?
Apple Business Manager is a cloud-based portal that allows business owners to view and manage all corporate-owned Apple devices.
Through this web-based portal, you can automatically enrol devices, distribute content, and create managed Apple IDs without physically accessing the device. Moreover, it integrates seamlessly with mobile device management (MDM) solutions, granting you higher control over devices and enabling role-based permissions.
Consequently, you can monitor usage, remotely lock, or wipe devices to ensure your business information remains secure.
How to Remove a Device from Apple Business Manager
If a company-owned Apple device is lost, stolen, damaged, sold, or upgraded, you will need to remove it from Apple Business Manager.
This process is known as ‘releasing’ a device, and can be done directly through ABM or your MDM solution. Once a device is enrolled, users cannot un-enrol it themselves, even after a factory reset; only an admin can release it from the account.
Additionally, any devices you no longer control should be released to comply with the Apple Business Manager agreement terms.
Steps to Release Devices in Apple Business Manager
To release devices from Apple Business Manager, follow these steps:
- Sign In: First, log into Apple Business Manager with an Admin or Device Enrollment Manager account.
- Select Devices: Next, click on Devices in the sidebar and use the Search field to find and select the devices you wish to release. You can search using the serial number, order number, or a CSV file.
- Release Devices: Then, after selecting the devices, read the dialogue carefully and click ‘Release Devices’.
- Confirm: A dialogue will appear explaining that the device will be removed from Apple Business Manager and cannot be reassigned to an MDM server. Check the box stating “I understand that this cannot be undone” and click release.
- Verify: Finally, use the Search field to ensure the devices have been removed.
It’s important to note that if an iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Apple TV is removed, it can be added back using Apple Configurator 2.5 or later. However, Mac computers cannot be added back using this tool. These devices can be re-added by participating Apple Authorised Resellers or network providers.
For more details on getting started with Apple Business Manager and its benefits, refer to the Apple Business Manager Guide.
HardSoft’s Apple Business Manager Solutions
At HardSoft, we provide the latest Apple devices with flexible purchase options such as flexi-lease and Devices for Teams. From setup through to support and advice on Apple Business Manager, our team of experts is here to help.
Check out our Apple Business Manager FAQs for more information on its benefits and costs, or contact us to learn more!